Book Review #1: FEED by Mira Grant

Goodreads Rating: 3.87 Stars
My Rating: 4.5 Stars
Recommendations:  Get this book.  Immediately. 

What I Liked:  The main characters, the setting, the pace, the formatting of story vs blog posts in the book.

What I Didn’t Like: Some of the “incorrect” science, a few things were overly repetitious, the big bag villain was a little too easy to pick up before the big surprise was revealed.


First, I’d like to start out by saying that by TBR list on Goodreads is getting a little out of control. I keep adding books and then forgetting that I have them there.  I had planned on grabbing a copy of the Count of Monte Cristo to read between semesters and needed something to fill the time before I picked it up.  So, perusing through my TBR list, I saw FEED.  It’s been on my list quite a while.  To the point that I’d forgotten when or why I added it and what it was about.

That being said, I thought this book was going to be about some psychopath feeding people to death while it would be live streamed on the internet.  There’s a movie about that right?  As impulsive as I am, I didn’t bother actually reading the synopsis of the book.  I just sent in the request to my local library.

A week later, picked up the book and finally read the back cover.  I was wrong.  This book isn’t about some dude trying to kill people.  It’s a post-apocalyptic zombie book!  I love zombie books!

But this isn’t quite your typical zombie book.  While the zombies hold a large presence in the story, it’s more of the backdrop.  Here is this world where humans have created a cure for the common cold.  They’ve also created a cure for cancer.  But those two cures didn’t interact well with each other.  ZOMBIES! The story follows Georgia and Shaun Mason, and Buffy, three professional bloggers that have teamed up to bring up the best news you can get. Each blogger has a specific role in their team: Georgia is the “Newsie”, she wants the cold, hard facts, and reports on just that; Shaun is the “Irwin” and goes out in the field to video tape himself poking zombies “for science!”;  Buffy is their technical support and the Fictional blogger, she deals with all of their equipment such as servers, cameras, recorders, etc… all while writing poetry about zombies. The three of them have the bases covered. Early on, they’re invited to cover a presidential election, because life is supposed to be as normal as possible, even when zombies are walking around.  And that’s where things start to go wrong.

About this point, there may be SPOILERS!!!  You may want to stop reading if you haven’t finished the book yet.  Or keep reading if you don’t mind spoilers…

 I believe one of the reasons I fell so deeply into this book was because of the main character, Georgia Mason.  I could identify with her.  While I do worry about my hair and she doesn’t, there seemed to be a lot that we have in common.  It was easy for me to connect with her.  And this book being written in first person, it was easy to see “me” in that role.  I’m not usually a fan of books written in this POV.  I don’t find it done very well very often.  That being said, if I were alive in this time period, I would want to be doing what she was doing.  Not being an Irwin like her brother, or a Fictional/Tech junky like Buffy.  I’d be looking for and reporting on the details and facts.  The other field would be fun to dabble in, but that’s not where my heart would be set.  

At the same time, I did find the characters almost a little to cliche.  Of course, the fact finding girl doesn’t care about her appearance.  Of course, her brother, the main male character, that is the one who wants to go out and poke dead things.  Of course, the girl that likes to wear glitter is the one that writes poetry.  But I didn’t find these to take away from the story.  The characters I did find bothersome were the Senator and Governor.  Mr. Too-Perfect-Senator and Mr. Overzealous-Military-General-Governor.  It was a little easy to pick up on the plot twist with these two involved.  Keep in mind, this didn’t make me stop reading or anything of the like.  I still wanted to confirm my suspicions and kept reading.  

The setting of the story was mostly believable as well (at least in my mind).  When a third of the world’s population is zombified, overkill precautions are going to happen. I found it interesting, Grant’s take on what animals can be affected and which ones can’t, and that even something as animal ownership found its way into politics.  Made it seem more realistic.

The pace of the story was also something I liked.  For me, this can make or a break a story for me.  If it’s heavily detailed in a bunch of crap that probably isn’t very useful to the actual plot/story, then I get bored and find a hard time actually completing the story.  A well paced story keeps me going.  Grant did this.  She did get a little detailed here and there, but it wasn’t even to make me roll my eyes or skip parts of it.  And keeping with the pace, I like how she strategically put in blog posts from the characters of the stories.  It added to the feel of her world

What I didn’t like was the overly repetitiousness of the blood tests.  This seemed like it could actual lead to quicker infection.  I mean, your skin can only be poked so many times in the same spots.  And to do that several times in just a day… I imagined the characters to be walking around with open wounds on their bare hands throughout the story.

And the slight clicheness of the characters, especially the main villain.  As soon as this person was introduced, I knew who they were, which made everything else a bit more predictable to me.  BUT I wasn’t able to predict everything.  That’s the important part.

I really, reallly liked this book.  I can’t wait to read the next and see how the story continues.  I do recommend that you pick it up too.  

Leave a Reply

